Monasteries of Fruška Gora
The complex of preserved Serbian, Orthodox monasteries makes the most valuable monument treasure of Fruška Gora. The first written date on Orthodox monasteries at Fruška Gora dates back to 1455 and it was found in the letter of Despot Djuradj Branković (around 1375-1456), the last Serbian ruler before the fall of the Serbian Despotship under the Turks in 1459, written to the Pope Calisto III. In his letter, the Serbian Despot Branković referred to the right granted by the previous Pope, Nicholas V, to erect Orthodox monasteries "In regno Hungarie", which was realised in practice in the centuries that followed. Folk tradition places the building of monasteries at Fruška Gora in the period of several centuries before the evidence found in historical records. The history of monasteries of Fruška Gora can be largely connected with the endowment efforts of the noble family Branković, namely Despot Stefan Branković, his wife, Princess Angelina Branković and their sons Djordje and Jovan, who became Despots later on. Among them, Despot Djordje Branković (1461-1516) (who later became the Belgrade-Srem Metropolitan Maksim) and his mother, Princess Angelina Branković should be attributed the greatest merits for endowment heritage they left behind. The image that we are trying to comprehend now, looking at the Fruška Gora monasteries, is a representation of materialised concept of cultural, educational and economic growth of the Serbian people north of the Sava and the Danube that began in the third decade of the 18th century. During this period, a great reconstruction of the Fruška Gora monasteries began, during which a special form of baroque (somewhere also called Serbian) was created, which was reflected in the architecture of single-nave churches with massive bells, the making of iconostasis and wall painting. The baroque monumentality of churches and monastery dormitories and the concentration of Orthodox monastic communities at Fruška Gora, the area which was declared the National Park in 1946, have the inexhaustible power to attract visitors, pupils, students and pilgrims again.