Monastery Petkovica

It is traditionally believed that monastery Petkovica was built by Jelena, a widow of Despot Stevan Štiljanović, in the first half of the 16th century. Reliable data about the monastery date back to 1588 when the church was painted. Monastery church, which is dedicated to Saint Petka, has been restored several times.

It is known that it used to have a baroque iconostasis in 1735, which was decorated with a wooden cross of monumental dimensions. During the World War II, the monastery was pillaged and damaged. A large cross with Christ’s crucifixion was preserved and it is now kept in Sremska Mitrovica. The monastery has been recently renovated.

Adresa

Manastirski Put Petkovica, Ležimir, Fruška gora, Serbia