Serbian National Theatre

Serbian National Theatre was established in Novi Sad in 1861 as the first professional theatre among the Serbs. The beginnings of its work are connected with the activities of the Serbian Reading Room in Novi Sad, which was established by the Serbian National Theatre Society aiming at enabling drama and opera art to contribute to spreading and development of Serbian culture and literature. The merits for the establishing of the Serbian National Theatre should be attributed primarily to Svetozar Miletić, Stevan Branovački, Jovan Djordjević and Jovan Jovanović Zmaj. Being invited by Duke Mihajlo (Obrenović), Jovan Djordjević, the Manager of the Serbian National Theatre, and a part of the acting staff left to Belgrade and in 1867 they founded the National Theatre there. Among the best known actors/actresses, and opera signers who performed during the first decades of work of the Serbian National Theatre we should mention Dimitrije and Draginja Ružić, Laza Telečki, Žarko Savić, Pera Dobrinović, Draga Spasić, Milka Grgurova, Draga Dejanović… Among the actors/actresses who started their career in the Serbian National Theatre the audience remembers and recognises Rahela Ferari, Mira Banjac, Jasna Djuričić, Boris Isaković and many others. The Theatre moved to its current building in 1981. There are three ensembles: Drama, Opera and Ballet. The plays are performed at the following stages: “Jovan Djordjević”, “Pera Dobrinović” and “Chamber Stage”. “Sterija’s Theatre Festival”, the oldest and most renowned festival of national drama and theatre in our country, has been held in the Serbian National Theatre since 1956.


Pozorišni trg 1, Novi Sad