Sremski Karlovci

The town of Sremski Karlovci was mentioned in 1308 for the first time as a fortress called Karom. The town is very important for the history of the Serbs because it was the seat of the Serbian Metropolitanate, and because the Theological Seminary, the second in the Orthodox world, was founded there, as well as the Karlovci Grammar School, the first grammar school among the Serbs. It is adorned with cultural monuments and institutions founded mainly during the 18th and 19th centuries: the Patriarch’s Palace – a monumental building from the 19th century, Karlovci Grammar School – the oldest Serbian grammar school, Orthodox Congregational Church – a baroque church dedicated to St. Nicholas, Lower Church – dedicated to the Holy Apostles Peter and Paul, in the yard of which there is an old plane tree under the state protection, Upper Church – currently the monastery dedicated to the Presentation of the Holy Mother of God, Roman Catholic Church – dedicated to the Holy Trinity, Chapel of Peace– erected at the place where Karlovci Peace Treaty was signed in 1699, and “Four Lions” Fountain – built in the honour of the completion of the first waterworks in Karlovci.

The town has a long tradition of vine growing and wine production. Drinking wine, at the place where it is made, is a special experience. With a tasting of your choice in wine cellars, you will learn a lot about the long tradition of viticulture, wine production methods, but also about some little wine secrets, all spiced with a pleasant atmosphere supplemented with Srem appetizer, poppy seed strudel or “kuglof“ (Gugelhupf).

In the centre of the place there is a unique “museum” dedicated to the most famous Karlovci dessert, kuglof (Gugelhupf). In the Craft Shop “Gea”, visitors can buy it, but also participate in a “kuglof“ (Gugelhupf) making workshop.

Not far from the centre of the town, at Magarčev Breg, there is Vidikovac (Viewpoint), which offers a beautiful view of Sremski Karlovci and the Bačka flatland. A gilded cross and a sculpture of the famous poet Duško Trifunović can be seen at the viewpoint.

Zavičajna kuća (Homeland House) in Sremski Karlovci, with an ethno display of the household of the Danube Swabians from the second half of the 18th century, is also worth visiting and so is the  Museum of Matches, with a collection of over 25,000 exhibits.

In Karlovci, you can also find two interesting monuments: the one dedicated to Peter Nikolayevich Wrangel, a general of the Russian army, a unique monument to the Russian emigration and the other dedicated to Count Sava Vladislavić Raguzinski, a diplomat and adviser to the Russian Tsar Peter the Great.

A famous picnic area in the territory of the National Park “Fruška Gora”, Stražilovo is in the vicinity of Sremski Karlovci. There you can find a monument and the grave of the Serbian poet Branko Radičević (1824-1853).

Information for tourists:

Tourism Organisation of the Municipality of Sremski Karlovci, Patrijarha Rajačića no. 1

Phone: +381 21 882 127, Е-mail:,

Town Museum – Homeland Collection, Patrijarha Rajačića no. 16, +381 21 881 637

Treasure House at Patriarch’s Palace, Trg Branka Radičevića 8, Phone: +381 21 881 729

Karlovci Grammar School, Trg Branka Radičevića 2 (announcement of visits at a local Tourism Organisation);

Chapel of Peace, Karlovačkog mira 34, Phone: +381 62 853 70 01 (announcement is mandatory);

Foundation for Protection of the Homeland Heritage of the Danube Swabians– Zavičajna kuća (Homeland House), Andreja Volnog 1a, Phone: +381 65 55 28 747 (announcement is mandatory);

Museum of Matches, Mitropolita Stratimirovića 72, Phone: +381 21 884 147;

Museum of Beekeeping “Professor Jovan Živanović“, Mitropolita Stratimirovića 86b, Phone: +381 21 881 071, (announcement is mandatory);

Craft Shop “Gea”, Trg Branka Radičevića 5, Phone: +381 62 855 98 37 (for “kuglof“ (Gugelhupf) making workshops announcement is mandatory);

Wineries in Sremski Karlovci

Hospitality services on the bank of the Danube:

Hotel “Dunav“

“Pasent Restaurant and Bar“

Čarda “Pod ladom platana“ (“In the Shade of the Plane Tree“)

Accommodation and catering facilities: