Sremska Kamenica

Sremska Kamenica is a part of the City of Novi Sad that is located in the foothills of Fruška Gora. It is known after a special microclimate enjoyable for stay. Its centre is dominated by churches and monument of Jovan Jovanović Zmaj. Serbian Orthodox Church of Holly Mother’s Birth is a baroque building that was built in 1758 at the site of a previous temple. Iconostasis was painted by Stefan Gavrilović in 1802. Roman Catholic Church of Discovery of the Holly Cross at Zmaj’s Square was built in 1811. The following monuments and cultural institutions are accommodated in Sremska Kamenica:

Marczibányi-Karátsonyi Castle is located, in Kamenički Park. Its current outlook dates back to 1836. Kamenički Park is a spacious, well arranged park that was initially created around the castle. It is decorated with sculptures from the former castle park.

Monument of Jovan Jovanović Zmaj (1833-1904), a poet, medical doctor, and member of the Serbian Royal Academy reminds of the fact that he has been our most read, and most famous children’s poet for many generations. In his honour, Novi Sad has been hosting Zmaj’s Games for Children since 1958. The house in which the famous poet and medical doctor, Jovan Jovanović Zmaj lived in the period from 1875 to 1904 is currently the Zmaj’s Museum. It is located in Jovana Jovanovića Zmaja Street no. 1

Accommodation is available at:

Lodging “Vila Evanđelina”, Branislava Bukurova 2;

Lodging “Zmajevo Gnezdo” / Dragon’s Nest/, Zmajev trg 15;

“Ilidža”, Ledinački put 1, Phone: 461-158

Sremac“, Karađorđeva 16, Sremska Kamenica +381 (0)21 462-267, (o)64 660-9707


Sremska Kamenica