THE NOVOSADSKA SYNAGOGUE WITH JEWISH SCHOOL AND JEWISH COMMUNITY represents a cultural and historic complex of a great importance. It is constructed by a famous Budapest architect Lipot Baumhorn who is best known for his synagogues (in Zrenjanin, Novi Sad, Szeged, Budapest and Rijeka). In Novi Sad, before the synagogue, he had built The Menrat’s Palace and The Savings bank at the Liberty Square. However, he will be remembered as a builder of a monumental complex dominated by the synagogue, one of the biggest in this part of Europe. It is a three nave building with a central dome 40 metres high. Interior is separated into a ground floor and a gallery. The ground floor is reserved for the male and for the ‘’altar seats’’ and the gallery for the female seats. The Ark (Aron Hakodesh) is on the top of the east side. There is a gallery for the choir and pipe organ, but unfortunately, this synagogue no longer possesses the pipe organ. This temple is completed by the buildings of the Jewish school and Jewish community that are set parallelly towards the synagogue. The whole complex is built in recession style. All three facades are of yellow clinker brick, with a difference that the façade of the synagogue is ornamented. In 1944, the synagogue was an assembly place for Jews who would later be deported to the camps of death. As a witness to that, there is a table at the front wall. On the site of the contemporary synagogue, during the 1749- 1906, there were four synagogues, due to the fact that Jewish community was developing continually, and always built on the site of the former one. The fourth was an exception. It was built in 1826 and ruined during the Riot bombing in 1849. The first synagogue was not on the site of today’s, but at the Kralja Aleksandra Street, earlier than 1717.