According to folk tradition, monastery Kuveždin is the endowment of Despot Stefan Štiljanović (? – after 1540), and it was mentioned in historical records in 1566 for the first time. Monastery church is dedicated to Saint Sava. A new church was built at the site of an old one in the period from 1815 to 1816.
The murals and iconostasis were painted in 1849 by Pavle Simić, a famous painter from Novi Sad. The monastery was seriously damaged in the World War II. A baroque chapel at the monks’ cemetery from the 18th century was preserved. The restoration of the monastery complex has been in progress since 1973.