Monastery Krušedol was built in the period from 1509 to 1516. Its founders were Despot Djordje Branković, his mother Angelina Branković and Wallachian Prince Neagoe Basarab. The monastery church is dedicated to the Holy Mother’s Annunciation. The paintings dating back to the period of monastery construction can be still seen on the pillars supporting the church dome. The monastery was destroyed by the beginning of the 18th century so that baroque paintings date back to the period of restoration (middle of the 18th century), and they were painted by Jov Vasilijević with the assistance of a group of local painters and Stefan Tenecki.
The church altar is a monumental composition composed of icons made in the period from the 15th to 18th century. The throne icons (middle of the 18th century), and bishops throne (second half of the 18th century) are attributed to Jov Vasilijević and Dimitrije Bačević. Krušedol was the mausoleum of the Brankovićis from Srem. During the destruction of the monastery in 1716, the Turks destroyed their relics.
Many important figures of the Serbian history were buried in Krušedol: patriarchs Arsenije III Čarnojević (1706), and Arsenije IV Jovanović (1748), Duke Stefan Šupljikac (1848), Princess Ljubica Obrenović (1843), and King Milan Obrenović (1901).
Sretenje church (Church of Purification of the Virgin Mary) near the monastery Krušedol was built in the period from 1512 to 1516, as the endowment of Angelina Branković. The monastery church is dedicated to St. John Chrysostom. With the help of the Russian grand prince Vassily, Angelina Branković founded a nunnery (female monastery) by the beginning of the 16th century. By the beginning of the 18th century, the Turks destroyed the entire complex.
A part of the wall painting from the first half of the 17th century is still visible in the church. A baroque iconostasis was painted in the second half of the 18th century by Dimitrije Bačević and Teodor Dimitrijević Kračun.