Monastery Jazak

The monastery church is dedicated to the Descent of the Holy Spirit on the Apostles (Silazak Sv. Duha na apostole) (Holy Trinity (Sv. Trojica), 50th day after Easter)

Historical sources confirm that, not far from the modern Jazak Monastery, at the end of the 15th or the beginning of the 16th century, there was Stari Jazak, with the Church of the Presenation of Mary (Vavedenje Bogorodice), which is in ruins today. According to lore, Stari Jazak was founded by Despot Jovan Branković. It is known that in the 1770s it was abandoned according to the decree of the Viennese authorities on the reduction of monastic communities. But before it was closed and later collapsed, at the beginning of the 18th century, the relic of St. Emperor Uroš (Sv. car Uroš) (Nemanjić) was brought here, and the monastery became an important pilgrimage center. This was the reason to build a new church near the old one that could accommodate a multitude of pilgrims and to complete the construction in the middle of the 18th century. The church of the Novi Jazak Monastery is dedicated to the Holy Trinity (Sv. Trojica), and the patrons and benefactors were citizens of Baja, Osijek, Šid, Šašinci and Novi Sad. The great benefactor was Metropolitan Pavle Nenadović, who consecrated the temple. Novi Jazak had konaks that surrounded the church, and a massive bell tower, built at the beginning of the 19th century, in which there was a chapel.

After several renovations during the 19th and early 20th centuries, the Jazak Monastery was one of the richest in Fruška Gora in terms of its appearance, land holdings and wealth. Like most Fruška Gora monasteries, this one was looted and destroyed in Second World War. The church was not completely demolished, but it served as a stable for a while. The post-war reconstruction lasted for decades in several phases. Today, this monastery complex represents an exceptionally harmonious whole that captivates with its orderliness, in which the Church of the Holy Trinity (Crkva Sv. Trojice) is located, with a massive bell tower, partly surrounded by storeyed konaks.

The iconostasis of the new church was painted, with the help of associates, by the iconographer and zoographer Dimitrije Bačević in the second half of the 18th century. Art historians consider this painting unit, although of “uneven style and quality”, as performed in the “best traditions of the Ukrainian Baroque manner”. There is no wall painting in the church, except for the depiction of saints and evangelists performed by Pavle Čortanović at the end of the 19th century in the pandantifs (curved triangles on which the dome rests). Attention is drawn to the magnificently painted Baroque thrones from the 18th century. The icon on the Virgin’s Throne (Bogorodičin tron) was made by Teodor Dimitrijević Kračun. The throne of St. Emperor Uroš was painted, at the expense of Mijat Janković, by a painter who put the initials A.S. on his work – probably Andrej Šaltist (Saltist). The Archiereus’s Throne was painted by Grigorije Davidović Opšić at the expense of Filip Popović.

At the beginning of the 18th century, monk Hristofor from Nerodimlje (near Uroševac) brought the relic of St. Emperor Uroš the Weak (Sv. Car Uroš Nejaki) (1337-1371), the last ruler from the Nemanjić line, to the Stari Jazak Monastery. After the construction of the new monastery, the relic was transferred to the new church, which became a place of pilgrimage. In 1942, the relic of Emperor Uroš was transferred to Belgrade and thus preserved from destruction. Today, it is located in this monastery. The Jazak Monastery preserves the memory of Jelena Balšić and St. Emperor Uroš (December 15) and St. Petka (October 27).

The monastery church keeps particles of relics of: St. Anastasia of Rome (Sv. Anastasija Rimljanka), St. Nectarios of Aegina (Sv. Nektarije Eginski), St. Petka (Sv. Petka), St. Mardarius of Libertyville (Sv. Mardarije Libertvilski), St. Simeon of Dajbab (Sv. Simeon Dajbabski), St. Nicholas of Žiča (Sv. Nikolaj Žički), Holy Martyrs of Jerusalem (Sv. Mučenici Jerusalimski) from the monastery of St. Saint Sabbas the Sanctified (Sv. Sava Osvećeni) and Holy Martyrs of Jasenovac (Sv. Mučenici Jasenovački.)

Liturgy schedule: Sundays at 9.00 a.m., Saturdays and church holidays at 7.00 a.m., evening liturgy every day at 5.00 p.m.

TOURIST INFORMATION: The monastery is open for visits between 8.00 a.m. -7.00 p.m. (during the summer) and 8.00 a.m. -4.00 p.m. (during the winter). Jazak Monastery is happy to receive tourists, there is always one nun in charge of the stay of the announced tourist group. The appropriate way of dressing (for women covered head, long skirt, long sleeves, and for men long trousers and shirt) is implied. Group visits must be announced via phone number:+381 (0)22 468 864. You will receive additional information when announcing your group visit.


Jazak, Fruška gora, Serbia