It is traditionally believed that monastery Bešenovo was founded by the Serbian King Dragutin Nemanjić (1276-1316) although the historical records mention it in the 16th century for the first time. Monastery church is dedicated to Holy Archangels Gabriel and Michael. The monastery was completely destroyed during the World War II.
Monastery church used to have several iconostases. Parts of iconostases that were painted by Stevan Aleksić by the beginning of the 20th century are kept in the Gallery of Church Art in Sremska Mitrovica. The renovation of the monastery Bešenovo started in 2013.