Grammar School “Jovan Jovanović Zmaj”

Grammar School “Jovan Jovanović Zmaj” was built in eclectic style, on the site where, during the 18th century, used to be ‘’The Great Serbian Orthodox Gymnasium. The project for the
building was made by a famous Serbian architect Vladimir Nikolic(well known for his constructions in SremskiKarlovci(Patriarchate Court,Seminary boarding-for the students of Theological College, Theological College, Stephaneum). The base of the gymnasium resembles the base of the Patriarchate Court in SremskiKarlovci because it has a shape of Cyrillic letter P, and the main façade consists of three avant-corpses with domes. This Neo renaissance building has two vast yards. Interior is suitable for its purposes, but the ceremonial hall within the Gymnasium stands out for its beauty and splendour. The construction of the whole building was financed by a member of Hungarian Parliament, Baron Milos Bajic, which could be asserted by the inscription above the entrance:’’Baron Milos Bajic to Serbian People’’. Another inscription on the gymnasium wall, in the Street ZlatneGrede, informs the visitors and passers-by that in the house, which used to be on the site of gymnasium, a distinguished poet, doctor, translator, member of Maticasrpska and Serbian royal Academy, Jovan Jovanovic Zmaj was born(1833-1904).

Gimnazija_Jovan_Jovanovic_Zmaj_2
Category: Location: