Sremski Karlovci were mentioned in the records for the first time in 1308 as the Fortress named Karom. This small town is very important for the history of the Serbs because it was the seat of the Serbian Metropolitanate and the founding place of the Seminary, the second one in the Orthodox world, as well as the Grammar School of Sremski Karlovci, the first school of this type among the Serbs. It is known after monuments of culture and institutions that were founded mainly during the 18th and the 19th century: Patriarch’s Residence – the monumental building from the 19th century, Grammar School of Sremski Karlovci – the oldest Serbian grammar school, Orthodox Cathedral – a Baroque temple dedicated to St. Nicholas, Chapel of Peace – erected at the site where Karlovci peace treaty was signed in 1699, Karlovci Theological School – the boarding school for students of the Seminary, Fountain “Four Lions” – erected to commemorate the completion of the first public water pipeline in Karlovci. The town has a long tradition of grapevine growing and wine production. Information and booking of the guide service at http://www.karlovci.org.rs/
Monasteries of Fruška Gora
Čenej “salaš” farmsteads
Begeč, Kovilj and Ledinci
Cvejin salaš, a place that is known for its excellent, traditional cuisine is in Begeč. Booking in advance is mandatory. Cvejin salaš *** Begeč, Nikole Tesle 2; www.cvejinsalas.com
In the vicinity, at Begečka jama there are also famous čardas “Kod Braše“ (Begečka jama 56) and “Čarda na jami“ (Begečka jama bb).
The bus to Begeč number 56 leaves from the Inter-municipal bus station in Novi Sad, Bulevar Jaše Tomića 6. Information about the bus schedule at: http://www.gspns.co.rs/red-voznje/prigradski
Kovilj is an old settlement in Bačka with two churches and a monastery. According to the legend, the Serbian Orthodox Monastery Kovilj with the church dedicated to St. Archangels Michael and Gabriel was founded by St. Sava. Its name was mentioned in the records for the first time in the 17th century.
The monastery has had its current outlook since the middle of the 18th century. The iconostasis was painted by Aksentije Marodić, while wood carved pieces were made by Jovan Kistner. The information and announcing of visits: Monastery Kovilj, Duška Vickova Street 51; Phone + 381 (0)21 298 8020, e-mail: email@example.com (group visits should be announced a day in advance).
Serbian Orthodox Church of Christ’s Ascension (Upper Kovilj Church) was built in 1829. Serbian Orthodox Church of St. Thomas the Apostle (Lower Kovilj Church) was built in 1845 at the site of an older church. The information and announcing of visits: Serbian Orthodox Church of St. Thomas the Apostle (Lower Kovilj Church) at Laze Kostića Street 16; father Stevan Lukić – mobile phone + 381 (0) 64 800 4221. + 381 (0) 64 800 4221. It is possible to visit the church upon previous announcement (mandatory in case of group visits). Upon previous announcement the tourists can also visit:
Winery “Do kraja sveta” (“At the End of the World”), Žarka Zrenjanina 13; www.dokrajasveta.com
Agricultural holding of Sava Graorac, Vojvodjanskih Brigada Street 57; +381 (0) 21 298 8558, www.mangulice.com (mandatory announcement). The bus to Kovilj no. 24 leaves from the Inter-municipal bus station in Novi Sad, Boulevard of Jaša Tomić 6. The information about the bus schedule at: http://www.gspns.co.rs/red-voznje/prigradski
Sremska Kamenica – SZR Podrum Šukac, Sremska Kamenica, Karađorđeva 4, tel: +381 21 475 51 32 +381 64 165 56 65 e-mail firstname.lastname@example.org
Ledinci – The estate of the family Miljević is in Stari Ledinci. The family is involved in wine growing and cattle breeding. They produce Burgundy and Traminer wines and homemade goat cheese. In addition to domestic cuisine they also offer to tourists the accommodation (in original home resembling facilities and in authentic rural tourist households) categorised with 3*. Make sure to book in advance. Information and booking: “Miljević” Wine Cellar***, Stari Ledinci, Sime Šolaje Street 41; + 381 21 298 67 81, www.podrum-miljevic.co.rs www.facebook.com/podrum.miljevic
The Family Winery Antonijević is in Ledinci, Fruškogorska Street 1.
The bus for Stari Ledinci number 76 leaves from the Inter-municipal bus station in Novi Sad, Bulevar Jaše Tomića 6. Information about the bus schedule at:: http://www.gspns.co.rs/red-voznje/prigradski