Sremski Karlovci (Fruška gora)

Sremski Karlovci (Fruška Gora)

Sremski Karlovci was first mentioned in 1308 as a fortress under the name Karom. The town is very important for the history of the Serbs because it was the seat of the Serbian Metropolitanate, and the seminary, the second in the Orthodox world, was founded there, as well as the Karlovac High School, the first high school among the Serbs. It is decorated with cultural monuments and institutions created mainly during the 18th and 19th centuries: The Patriarchal Palace – a monumental building from the 19th century, the Karlovci High School – the oldest Serbian high school, the Cathedral Church – a baroque church dedicated to Saint Nicholas, the Lower Church – dedicated to the Holy Apostles Peter and Paul, in the gate of which there is an old plane tree under the protection of the state, the Upper Church – today a Monastery dedicated to the Presentation of the Blessed Virgin Mary, the Roman Catholic Church – dedicated to the Holy Trinity, the Chapel of Peace – built at the place where the Treaty of Karlowitz was signed in 1699, the Theological Seminary – a boarding school for seminary students, the “Four Lions” Fountain – built in honor of the completion of the first Karlovci water supply system.

The town has a long tradition of growing vines and producing wine. Drinking wine, in the place where it is produced, is a special experience. With the optional tasting in the wine cellars, you will learn a lot about the long tradition of viticulture, the way of wine production, but also some small wine secrets, all seasoned in a pleasant atmosphere with a Srem appetizer, strudel with poppy seeds or kuglof.

Not far from the town center on Magarčev Breg is the Vidikovac (Viewpoint), from which there is a wonderful view of Sremske Karlovci, as well as the Bač plain. At the viewpoint there is a gilded cross and a sculpture of the famous poet Duško Trifunović.

In Sremski Karlovci, it is also worth visiting the Homeland House, with the ethnic display of the Danube Swabian household from the second half of the 18th century, as well as the Match Museum, with a collection of over 25,000 exhibits.

In Karlovci, you can also find two interesting monuments: to Peter Nikolayevich Wrangel, a general of the Russian army, a kind of symbol of Russian emigration, and to Count Sava Vladislavić Raguzinski, a diplomat and adviser to the Russian emperor Peter the Great.

Near Sremski Karlovac is Stražilovo, a well-known recreational area on the territory of the Fruška Gora National Park, where a monument and grave of the Serbian poet Branko Radičević (1824-1853) is located.

The Movement of Vojvodina Highlanders organizes numerous ecotourism programs in Sremski Karlovci, where catamaran sailings on the Danube and the Kovilj-Petrovaradin Rite are particularly interesting.

More information about the tourist offer and contents of Sremski Karlovci can be obtained from the Tourist Organization of the Municipality of Sremski Karlovci



Sremski Karlovci (Fruška gora)