Novi Sad attracts the visitors with its neatness, safe embeddedness beneath the Petrovaradin Fortress – the “Gibraltar on the Danube”, different languages spoken by its inhabitants, festivals, fairs, and rhythm so untypical for hasty and chaotic pace of an urban community. Even the clock at the Fortress shows hours with its big hand and warns to the fact that minutes can sometimes wait for a moment of beauty to be absorbed, or for a friendly chat, strolling along the Danube sand, joy of walking after a spring rain, or Sunday lunch to be brought to an end. Novi Sad rhythm of authentic relaxed and “easy going” atmosphere vibrates beyond the city borders as well – at “salaš” farmsteads, the Danube “čardas” (famous fish restaurants), beaches or above the Fruška Gora vastness. The life that is being deeply inhaled here, is carried later on as the taste of warm poppy “Strudel”, and “Schneenockerl”, those that are suddenly left behind a family lunch at a “salaš” farmstead, as a reminder of the warmth of a simple stove around which the young and the old gather during the winter. Novi Sad to go is the feeling of warmth of a spring day on the Danube or snowy whiteness traversed by horses harnessed in sleighs with chiming bells, filled with singing voices of “salaš” farmstead guests warmed up with “rakija” and wine. This is also the memory of the cosiness of conversation, or tastes and scents of the dining table filled with most diverse goodies of Vojvodina cuisine and Fruška Gora wines: Riesling, Neoplanta, Semillon, Sirmium, Slankamenka, Bermet, etc.
- Map of routes
- Čenej and its surroundings
- Direction to Fruška Gora
- Futog and its surroundings
- Kovilj and its surroundings
- Sremska Kamenica
If you set off along the old Subotica road to which you are taken by Sentandrejski road, and drive for some ten kilometres through a pleasant countryside, you will come to Čenej, an old Bačka village, currently known as the settlement of “salaš” farmsteads. This is where you can slow down the time at least for a moment and enjoy in the ambience typical for rural households in Vojvodina, in the shade of an orchard, with traditional food and good wines. “Salaš” farmsteads are houses with economic structures scattered in the sea of Vojvodina land. Today, they are the keepers of the spirit of the past times, slow-paced way of life, homemade food, wine, and horses running across the flatland.
Salaš 137, Međunarodni put 137;
Closed on Mondays. Advance booking recommended.
Here, in the kingdom of silence, cosy and relaxed atmosphere, you will enjoy in horse riding and fiacre ride, rich offer of Vojvodina specialities and relax after that in one of authentic rooms in the “Alt Deutsch” style.
Salaš 325, Međunarodni put 325;
A restaurant of national cuisine accommodated in a beautiful rural atmosphere, with a garden filled with thick shade and quality food prepared according to traditional recipes.
Salaš Volić, Salaš 271
Make sure to book in advance www.novisad.travel. The offer is adapted to special, closed and groups scheduled in advance.
Brkin salaš, Međunarodni put 312
Make sure to book in advance www.brkinsalas.in.rs
Brkin salaš is a household of the family Matić where you can feel the charms of salaš way of life, in a peaceful atmosphere, with no hurry; here you can also organise the celebrations of important events events with traditional Vojvodina cuisine and music of tamburica players.
Mitin salaš, Vuka Karadžića 53
Make sure to book in advance. www.salasvojvodina.co.rs
Mitin salaš has got the main house where you can find accommodation in a rural tourist household categorised as 2* facility. Beside it, there is a small house with a cane roof – museum of items used at “salaš” farmsteads from the oldest times. The following services are available to tourists: playroom, room for birthday celebrations, horse riding classes, visit to the museum, and overnight stay.
Edukativni kamp Čenej ŠOSO „Milan Petrović“, Međunarodni put 238
Make sure to book in advance. www.smp.edu.rs.
The beneficiaries and pupils of ŠOSO “Milan Petrović“ from Novi Sad grow flowers, spice herbs and mushrooms in this Camp and they adopt diverse daily skills – primarily in the fields of gardening and vegetable growing – through work and spending time together.
Sportski aerodrom „Čenej“, Međunarodni put 257.
At Čenej one can also find Sports Airfield “Čenej“. Međunarodni put 257. All tourist interested in the programmes can get the information they need and apply at www.akns.rs
The road to Fruška Gora will take you from the centre of the city through
Petrovaradin – along Beogradska, and Preradovićeva streets. You will see the following churches along the road: Roman Catholic Church of St. George with a convent (Štrosmajerova Street 20) dating back to 1714, Serbian Orthodox Church of St. Apostles Peter and Paul (Vladimira Nazora Street) dating back to 1922, Roman Catholic Church of the Holly Cross (Ljudevit do) dating back to 1800, Old Catholic (West Orthodox) Church of St. Anthony (Preradovićeva Street that was restored in 1937, Serbian Orthodox Church of St. Petka from 2011 (Palmotićeva bb) and Roman Catholic Parish Church of St. Rock (Preradovićeva Street 160) dating back to 1808. The Roman Catholic Church of Our Lady of the Snow at Tekije is outstanding for its significance and monumentality. It is ecumenical shrine where on August 4th and 5th the processions are held to commemorate the Battle of Vezirac (1716) and great victory of the Christian Army over the Turks. The church got its present appearance in 1881, and it was designed by Hermann Bollé.
Sremski Karlovci were mentioned in the records for the first time in 1308 as the Fortress named Karom. This small town is very important for the history of the Serbs because it was the seat of the Serbian Metropolitanate and the founding place of the Seminary, the second one in the Orthodox world, as well as the Grammar School of Sremski Karlovci, the first school of this type among the Serbs. It is known after monuments of culture and
institutions that were founded mainly during the 18th and the 19th century. Patriarch’s Residence – the monumental building from the 19th century, Grammar School of Sremski Karlovci – the oldest Serbian grammar school, Orthodox Cathedral – a Baroque temple dedicated to St. Nicholas, Chapel of Peace – erected at the site where Karlovci peace treaty
was signed in 1699, Karlovci Theological School – the boarding school for students of the Seminary, Fountain “Four Lions” – erected to commemorate the completion of the first public water pipeline in Karlovci. The town has a long tradition of grapevine growing and wine production.
Stražilovo is in the closest vicinity of Sremski Karlovci, and it is a well-known picnic resort in the territory of the National Park “Fruška Gora“. This is the place where the monument and the tomb of a Serbian poet Branko Radičević (1824-1853) can be seen.
Popovica is the most famous among Fruška Gora picnic resorts in the vicinity of Novi Sad. It is near Sremska Kamenica. The site is known after mountaineering centres, as well as the start/finish of Fruška Gora Marathon, the event of international significance that every year during the month of April gathers several thousands of nature and walking lovers.
The Hunters’ Lodge “Tri gazde“ (Fruškogorski put 228-230) is in the vicinity of Sremska Kamenica. The estate of the family Miljević is in Stari Ledinci. The family is involved in wine growing and cattle breeding. They
produce Burgundy and Traminer wines and homemade goat cheese. In addition to domestic cuisine they also offer to tourists the accommodation in original home resembling facilities, as well as in authentic rural tourist households categorised with 3*. ’’Miljević’’ Wine Cellar ***, Stari Ledinci,
Sime Šolaje Street 41; Make sure to book in advance.
In the vicinity of Novi Sad, in small places of Rakovac and Beočin there are the same named monasteries. According to the legend, the Serbian Orthodox Monastery Rakovac was built by Raka Milošević, a Great Chamberlain of Duke Jovan Branković. Its name appeared for the first time in 1545. It was restored by the end of the 17th century. The monastery church is dedicated to Saints Cosmas and Damian. The first written records on the Serbian Orthodox Monastery Beočin date back to the 16th century. The present monastery church, dedicated to Christ’s Ascension dates back to the 18th century. The iconostasis is of great value and it is the work of Teodor Dimitrijević Kračun, Janko Halkozović and Dimitrije Bačević. The park surrounding the monastery is the protected example of landscape and garden architecture.
The picnic route towards Futog can start from one of the most beautiful beaches on the Danube. Štrand is a Novi Sad beach opened in 1911. In summer, it is the venue of concerts, festivals, sports competitions, etc. The visitors can take the tours by boat of the “Danube Rafting“ www.dunavskirafting.com. “Čarda“ Restaurant “Cesla“ (Sunčani kej 13) is also near Štrand. On the Srem side there are: Čarda “Aqua Doria“ (Kamenički put bb), “Atina Aqua“ (Kej skojevaca bb) and kafana “Tako je suđeno“ (Ribnjak, Gornji put 15).
Ribarsko ostrvo and Kamenjar
Favourite places for relaxation, leisure, and good time are Ribarsko ostrvo, and Kamenjar. Ribarsko ostrvo is a Novi Sad weekend resort with the following restaurants and fish taverns: “Dunavska terasa” (Ribarsko ostrvo bb); “Kućerak kod česme“(Ribarsko ostrvo bb); “Dunavac km” (Ribarsko ostrvo bb); “Noina arka“ (Ribarsko ostrvo 10). There is also the same named Tourist Resort “Ribarsko ostrvo”**** www.ribarskoostrvo.rs to which the following restaurants belong: “Ribarac“, “Alaska barka“, and “Alaska terasa“.
Kamenjar is a weekend resort with famous fish restaurants: Restaurant “Ribarska noć“ (Podunavska Street 2); “Čarda Mačak“ (Kamenjar bb), and
“Fish meat & wine“ (Kamenjar 83).
Futog is an old settlement that has recently become a part of Novi Sad. The Roman Catholic Church of the Jesus’ Heart with the parish can be seen in its centre. The original church was built by Count Hadik in 1776. At the site of the old church, the Countess Chotek built a new one dedicated to Jesus’ Heart. The project was developed by Ferenc Veninger. Serbian Orthodox Church of St. Cosmas and Damian was built in Futog in 1776. The iconostasis was painted by Arsenije Teodorović, and wall painting is attributed to Janko Halkozović. The church keeps the collection of icons painted by Pavle Simić. Famous restaurants in Futog include “Plavi Dunav“ (Ribarska Street 2X) and raftčarda “Dunavac“ (Dunavska Street 000).
Begečka jama is a nature park and popular picnic resort created on the old Danube riverbed. It spreads across the surface of 379 hectares. The place is known after its fishing sites, beach, weekend resort, fishermen’s centre and catering facilities. Begečka jama is one of the places along the banks of the river Danube from Bačka Palanka to Beška that is of great significance for the nesting birds. Cvejin salaš *** Begeč, Nikole Tesle Street 2; Make sure to book in advance www. cvejinsalas.com
Cvejin salaš is authentic rural household where tourists are offered not only the specialities of domestic cuisine but also the accommodation in authentic household atmosphere of rural homes categorised with 3*. There are famous čarda in the vicinity: “Kod Braše“ (Begečka jama 56), and “Čarda na jami“ (Begečka jama bb).
Kać is at the distance of 8 km from Novi Sad. Serbian Orthodox Church of St. Nicholas is in the centre of the settlement. It was built in the period from 1840 to 1844. This is where you can also see the Monastery of the Serbian Orthodox Church dedicated to Christ’s Ascension. The Black Whirlpool resort was designed specifically for those who love fishing.
Budisava is one of Novi Sad’s suburban settlements. The Roman Catholic Church of Holly Mother is in its centre, and near it there is the Ethno House in Cara Dušana Street 107; Make sure to book in advance.
Kovilj – Petrovaradin Marsh
Kovilj-Petrovaradin Marsh is a special nature reservation that spread across 4,840 hectares of space in the territories of municipalities of Novi Sad, Sremski Karlovci, Indjija and Titel. A spacious reservation was created on the old arms of the river Danube. It is the habitat of rare bird species, and it is registered as IBA Area. Arkanj site is a well-known fishing resort.
Kovilj is the old settlement in Bačka that is located in the outskirts of Kovilj-Petrovaradin Marsh. The records mention it for the first time in the
13th century. The settlement has two churches and a monastery. According to the legend, the Serbian Orthodox Monastery Kovilj with the church dedicated to St. archangels Michael and Gabriel was founded by St. Sava. Its name was mentioned in the records for the first time in the 17th century. The monastery has had its current outlook since the middle of the 18th century. The iconostasis was painted by Aksentije Marodić, while wood carved pieces are the works of Jovan Kistner. Serbian Orthodox Church of Christ’s Ascension (Upper Kovilj Church) was built in 1829. Serbian Orthodox Church of St. Thomas the Apostle (Lower Kovilj Church) was built in 1845 at the site of the previous temple. The birthplace of Laza Kostić (1841-1910), a writer, poet, and translator, is located beside the Upper Kovilj Church.
Sremska Kamenica je deo grada Novog Sada, a nalazi se u podnožju Fruške Gore. Poznata je po posebnoj mikroklimi ugodnoj za boravak. Centrom dominiraju crkve i spomenik Jovanu Jovanoviću Zmaju.
Sremska Kamenica is a part of the City of Novi Sad that is located in the foothills of Fruška Gora. It is known after a special microclimate enjoyable for stay. Its centre is dominated by churches and monument of Jovan Jovanović Zmaj. Serbian Orthodox Church of Holly Mother’s Birth is a baroque building that was built in 1758 at the site of a previous temple. Iconostasis was painted by Stefan Gavrilović in 1802. Roman Catholic Church of Discovery of the Holly Cross at Zmaj’s Square was built in 1811. The following monuments and cultural institutions are accommodated in Sremska Kamenica: Marcibanji-Karačonji Castle is located in Kamenički Park. Its current outlook dates back to 1836. Kamenički Park is a spacious, well arranged park that was initially created around the castle. It is decorated with sculptures from the former castle park. Monument of Jovan Jovanović Zmaj (1833-1904), a poet, medical doctor, and member of the Serbian Royal Academy reminds of the fact that he is our most read, and most famous children’s poet for many generations. In his honour, Novi Sad has been hosting Zmaj’s Games for Children since 1958 (www. zmajevedecjeigre.org.rs). The house in which the famous poet and medical doctor, Jovan Jovanović Zmaj lived in the period from 1875 to 1904 is currently the Zmaj’s Museum. It is located in Jovana Jovanovića Zmaja Street no. 1 www.museumns.rs